Apr 082014

Hello everyone! 

Our Annual General Meeting was Monday night and we appreciate all of those members that managed to make it out. We realize that general meetings aren’t always the most exciting of meetings, but they are important as a way to keep members informed and a requirement for us to be a registered non-profit.

Our financial statements were reviewed and finalized and a few things voted on for use of our money in the upcoming year. We voted to make arrangements to book a guest speaker (who will incur a speakers fee), and voted to donate the cost of our snacks and lunch for the day we volunteer at Habitat for Humanity from our current funds. The group also approved moving forward with bus ads this year, which will mean fundraising and proposals for donations.

Other items discussed were ideas for upcoming roundtables (topics and guest speakers), more frequent pub nights and movie nights, and some other details concerning upcoming events like Pride Parade and Imagine No Religion conference in Kamloops. Congratulations to member, Niles, who won the door prize of a free ticket to INR4!

If you haven’t made it out to an event yet, we have plenty to choose from. You can find them listed on the right side of our website or on the event page and on our facebook group.

It was a productive evening with some solid plans for the 2014-2015 year. I think we are on the cusp of some growth and movement this year, with exciting events and maybe even a little (hopefully positive!) media attention. Let’s make sure any atheist, freethinker, secular humanist, agnostic, skeptic and seeker out there knows who we are and that we are here!


Marion Kilgour, the President of the Society for 2013-2014, chose to become the returning officer this upcoming year. I can’t thank her enough for her work with the SEA, Marion has been an extremely important part of keeping the group running and does a lot behind the scenes to keep the cogs turning. I also want to thank everyone that has been on the board in years past for setting up the wheels, so that we are ready this year to keep the momentum driving forward.

Here is your newly elected board for the 2014-2015 year:

President Karen Lumley Kerr
Vice-President Allan Bassil
Secretary Richard Robinson
Recording Secretary Maryna Goncharenko
Treasurer Jeffrey Van Alstine
Past President Marion Kilgour
Director Luke Fevin
Director Robert Chamberlain
Director Harriet Huestis
Director Kerri Hildebrandt

I hope to see plenty of new faces this year and am looking forward to the exciting things we have planned!


Karen Lumley Kerr
President, Society of Edmonton Atheists